Apple’s iPhone Announcement … For Real This Time

The Specs

• 3.5” Multi Touch Display, 640 x 960, 326 ppi
• 16 and 32 GB Capacity
• Quad Band GSM/EDGE/ UMTS/HSDPA/HSUPA, 802.11n and Bluetooth 2.1
• 5.0 MP back camera, VGA front facing camera, 720p/30 video recording
• GPS, Digital Compass
• Gyroscope, Accelerometer, Proximity and Ambient light sensor
• Runs iOS 4.0
• $599 and $699 off contract, $199 and $299 with 2 year contract

My Thoughts

It’s about time they upgraded that display, I’ve been using at least VGA resolution since 2005. I find it fascinating that people think Apple somehow pioneered the first 300+ ppi display. My old phone that I just sold on eBay had a ppi of 360. I hate the name Retina display, but it will have Apple’s target demographic buzzing. I can understand the reason behind the name as most people don’t understand the specs. It’s also at the point where it really doesn’t matter how many pixels it has, it just looks great. It’s interesting most people never cared about the display the iPhone had before. It was always a big thing for me and a reason I never considered an iPhone in the first place. I’m glad that’s now a non-issue. But it’s funny how people who didn’t care before will champion that as one of the main reasons to get this phone.

The storage didn’t increase and for most people it’s another non-issue. But for anyone who wants to shoot and edit 720p video it might be. I guess they had to save a few things to get people to upgrade next year. If you’re looking for the best video and picture taking experience within a phone, iPhone is for you. If you’re looking for the best video and picture taking experience period, you’re still better off with a dedicated device.

Everyone is touting how big of a jump the iPhone 4 is and it’s only because Apple slacked the last 2 years with minor incremental updates with the 3G and 3GS. They let their device fall behind on specs and sold the device on its software, ecosystem and usability. With actual competition mounting within the last year, Apple had to update their phone. Apple knew they had to have a phone that could stay relevant for 12-18 months.

The way I see it, if you’re an Apple fan, iPhone 4 will assure that Apple keeps your business. For those that aren’t it really doesn’t change anything about how you use the device. They haven’t introduced another form factor, they haven’t improved the notification system, they haven’t added any widgets or additional functionality to the home screen, they continue to charge for Mobile Me when their competitors give that level of service away for free and they haven’t integrated social media within the core of the OS. It is still just a glorified app launcher and if you didn’t get why it was so popular before, nothing is going to change your mind with version 4.

Dave Loft

    • Tom
    • June 12th, 2010

    This phone is going to finally pull me into the iPhone kool-aid drinkers. The most pressing reason is that our KRZR contracts are coming to an end. Second is that I drowned my Touch in the backyard pond.

    I looked pretty hard at the cheaper Android platform to replace my aging phone. For most everything, Android seems to be on par with the iPhone technology. Except for one thing. It’s not an iPod. I’m heavily integrated into the iTunes playlist lifestyle. I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t be satified with the Android as a music player (my usually is a Mac). There’s a reason that the iPod has been so successful. It’s an amazingly satisfying piece of equipment.

    So, it’s going to be an iPhone to cover all the details. Phone calls, messaging, apps & music. iPHone 4 is definitely whiz-bang enough that I wouldn’t consider getting a 3gs to save a few bucks. The shape (smaller), battery (longer), atech (zippy) make it worth getting the state-of-the-art at the moment.

  1. Yeah I don’t understand when people buy the older model to save $100. Your going to spend a $1000 a year on the service, what’s another $100 for a far superior product.

    I can’t blame anyone for choosing iPhone, it’s an easy choice. But I prefer to stay away from iTunes. I get my tunes from eMusic and I sync my media to my Android with Media Monkey. If you want an iTunes experience for Android I would give Double Twist a try.

    I find the media player more than adequate for my needs and have come to love using Google Listen for podcasts. I can add the podcasts I want on the computer and they just show up on the phone. I can download them or just stream it. If your required to use a USB cable to get podcasts on the device, they blew it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

