Polar Bear Club Sometimes Things Just Disappear Review

Originally written in 2008

I’ve been putting this review off for far too long, probably because on first listen I completely hated the album. The album is titled Sometimes Things Just Disappear; and I wish this album was one of them. Unfortunately it hasn’t and the album still sits on my desk waiting to be reviewed, taunting me even. Alright then, now’s as good a time as any, but it asked for it.

It reminds me of the crap I wasted my youth listening too when I thought Edge 102 was cool. Their previous EP, The Redder The Better garnered Polar Bear Club a lot of attention online.  But I think fans of that EP may be a little disappointed with the direction the album took. Music is the medium of the message; unfortunately Polar Bear Club forgot the latter. Their overdone power chords and screaming vocals have nothing worthwhile to say. This is music going after a specific demographic and it has that alternative radio sheen plastered all over it.

From beginning to end, the album ultimately sounds the same.  After several listens I no longer feel hatred, just numb with the sound of void where music should be.  The only track to even remotely interest me is As ‘Twere the Mirror. It starts out well, but by the end its noise as usual. The best part of the album is 5 minutes and 30 seconds into the 10th track.  It’s Convinced I’m Wrong, but I’m definitely not.

The album art doesn’t seem to fit well with the album; for starters, it’s actually quite interesting.  It’s abstract, colourful and well illustrated.  I think I could probably find more to say about the art than the album. Unfortunately it doesn’t remind me of the album, and in the end, it’s the album that’s important.

I’m sure some people will like this album, especially if you’re into bands like Hot Water Music.  But I’m also sure you’re not very likely to be getting your music reviews from Two Way Monologues, so I’m not too worried about angering any post-hardcore fan boys.  If you are a reader of Two Way Monologues and you consider yourself a fan of indie music, I would recommend you steer clear of this album.

Score: 3.5

Buy from eMusic

Dave Loft

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

